GIVEAWAY & GAME to Play to Dig Deeper Into The Catholic Faith?

GIVEAWAY SITE AT THE BOTTOM & / OR DONATE $25 TO THEIR FLOWER FUND TO RECEIVE A FREE PDF DOWNLOAD AND A FULL SET OF PRINTED CARDS!  YOU WILL BE ABLE TO LEARN AND PLAY AND GIVE THEM AS GIFTS!!!!    

I am not sure who learned more tonight when we played “Super Saints” from Arma Dei @ http://www.equippingcatholicfamilies.com!  Scroll down to her button on the lower right of my blog.  We downloaded her pdf and printed it at Staples in color.  No… we don’t have color (it IS possible that my husband is right and I would use it too quickly and print far too much… and then become overwhelmed).  We ALSO knew that they had the uber powerful laminators like teachers in schools.  Not the sheets … the rolled lamination that sticks when you cut it.  Be sure you ask for that!  Otherwise, when you print them you need to print page 11 on the back of each color copy.  The hot lamination machine was much less expensive.

Project-Super-Saints-button

  1.  The cards ARE BEAUTIFUL!  They look like watercolors!  Here is St. Clare… my Confirmation saint.  I thought I knew all about her.  Ha!  So much for RE (or CCD) circa the late 1970’s.St-Clare-2-248x300
  2. There are 3 games suggested, but we made up other games, too.  The kids used them to play Saint Headbandz… so much fun… and challenging.
  3. These are not just saint fact cards, although they do give a ton of info about each saint.  They tell you what level of sanctification they are canonized at.  The discuss the levels of sanctification from God the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit to martyr and pope.  Each of my children have special saints – all Catholic kids do – they are inspirations, the souls we pray to and call for intercession.  These cards taught my kids so much more about their “favorite” saint and introduced them to new saints we knew little about.  All Saints will ROCK this year!  They have already decided to make their questions at the party revolve around level of sainthood.  Oh my!  Must we look like we are the A students – when in life we are just ordinary, faulted folks… seeking God’s love although we are broken?
  4. More overwhelming and humbling was not just the information my kids learned or even knew prior to using the cards.  It was the questions that they asked and then sought to answer!  I gave them no answers.  I just put a Bible or the Catholic Catechism in their hands.  Deep and insightful questions.  Not to be answered simply – we even had to pull out a saint book and a video on a saint to watch for more insight.  And that my friends in faith… is TRUE LEARNING AND GROWTH IN FAITH AND AS A CATHOLIC!  The questioning, answering, applying, and asking of questions!  Father will always hand you or a child a book when asked, “Did your dog, Nino go to Heaven, Father?”  This game is the perfect prompt for just that.

In closing, I have seen a TON of saints games… memory decks… saint cards.  Nothing is like this on the market.  It is not matching.  It is not fact mere recitation.  It is true stimulation and learning.  An hour ago, two feet plodded into my room.  A dear friend’s son was struck by a snake today.  We are praying.  We love that fireheaded boy!  He was just playing with St. “Rory” (St. George – which secretly I suspect knows how to say.. but likes to have that as his special name for him… I heard him say George later…so special).  We were worried and had prayed the Rosary.  “Mommy, let’s look for the doctors of the Church.  They will kiss D’s booboo and watch over him.”  Really?  Was this my child?  Secretly and secularly I think, “Where is my son?”  Just saying.. and yes I will be in the LINE tomorrow!  At least I am honest!  So, we sat in my “prayer” chair, snuggled, and sorted all of the saints into piles to help D.  Oddly, we found some way to have each one intercede.  I pray that they heard his voice!  I know that they did.

Here is a great video of the cards by their creator.  And there is a link at the bottom to both their Flower Fund and site.  They are trying to create sets to give at The World Meeting of Families.  Please donate and you will receive a pdf AND A SET of the cards, too!

Project-Super-Saints-button     http://flowerfund.com/supersaints/

and http://www.equippingcatholicfamilies.com/2015/08/super-saints-and-tiny-saints-giveaway.html

StKolbe

Saint Kolbe – please hear my prayers tonight and take the “poison” from D’s little body saving him as you did during the Holocaust!

Pax,

Sam

 

One thought on “GIVEAWAY & GAME to Play to Dig Deeper Into The Catholic Faith?

  1. Pingback: Reviews are Reeling in …for Super Saints Craft Kit (all 54 cards!)

Leave a Reply

